Conservative Life
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Rudy for Pres???

4 posters

Go down

Rudy for Pres??? Empty Rudy for Pres???

Post by old goat Sat Feb 03, 2007 7:52 pm

Rudy Guilliani is one who I view as socially moonbat. Abortion, gay marriage and so on are things he doesn't have a problem with. That puts him out of the race on the GOP ticket... or does it?

When you think about what a President can do regarding these issues, you see it's very limited. The only real influence that he can have on them is through appointments in the Judiciary. So, we have a man who is moonbat in a number of ways, however, look at his take on the judiciary.

On the Federal judiciary I would want judges who are strict constructionists because I am. I'm a lawyer. I've argued cases in the Supreme Court. I've argued cases in the Court of Appeals in different parts of the country. I have a very, very strong view that for this country to work, for our freedoms to be protected, judges have to interpret not invent the Constitution. Otherwise you end up, when judges invent the constitution, with your liberties being hurt. Because legislatures get to make those decisions and the legislature in South Carolina might make that decision one way and the legislature in California a different one. And that's part of our freedom and when that's taken away from you that's terrible.